Simcoe County Hosts Public Information Centre for Commercial and Industrial Properties

Simcoe County Hosts Public Information Centre for Commercial and Industrial Properties
Posted on 05/03/2018

Be advised that the following media release was issued by the County of Simcoe.

Midhurst/ May 2, 2018 –
The County of Simcoe, working with its member municipalities, will hold a Public Information Centre regarding the reform of the property tax rebate program that currently exists for vacant commercial and industrial buildings. The goal is to provide background information to those interested and to seek their feedback on proposed changes.

Under the current program, owners of commercial and industrial buildings have been able to apply for a partial property tax rebates if all or part of the property was vacant for at least 90 consecutive days. This rebate program was introduced in 2001 as a means of more closely mirroring the effects of the Business Occupancy Tax system that was repealed in 1998. The program was recognised as having challenges since its inception.

Throughout Ontario, municipalities have found the program to be increasingly difficult to manage, budget, and administer. The application and enforcement of eligibility criteria has become particularly difficult due to loosely defined rules and limited compliance provisions.


Public Information Centre

Vacant Unit Rebate Program for Commercial and
Industrial Properties




Simcoe County Museum

1151 Highway 26, Minesing





Tuesday, May 15, 2018
5:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.


Public, landlords, business owners


There will be a brief presentation on the program’s background and proposed options. Attendees will have the opportunity to ask questions one-on-one with County and local municipal staff. Input is also being sought through a survey available at Survey submissions and comments will be received up until May 18th, 2018 and can be emailed to faxed to 905-878-9092 or hand delivered to the County of Simcoe Customer Service Centre, 1110 Highway 26, Midhurst during business hours of 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., to the attention of the Finance Department.

County of Simcoe is composed of sixteen member municipalities and provides crucial public services to County residents in addition to providing paramedic and social services to the separated cities of Barrie and Orillia. Visit our website at