sidebar decorative image

Township of Springwater resident receives County of Simcoe post-secondary education bursary

Township of Springwater resident receives County of Simcoe post-secondary education bursary
Posted on 12/05/2016

Please be advised that the following media release is a joint release between the County of Simcoe and the Township of Springwater.

Alexa FrankcomMidhurst / December 5, 2016
The County of Simcoe and the Township of Springwater are pleased to announce that Alexa Frankcom is the recipient of the 2016 County of Simcoe Post-Secondary Education Bursary Program.

Through the Bursary Program, the County will award Alexa with a $3,000 bursary to support her post-secondary education at Western University. Each academic year, the County provides up to five $3,000 bursaries to Simcoe County residents entering their first and second years of post-secondary education in Ontario. New this year, a selection of member municipalities have partnered with the County to provide additional funds to the Bursary Program. These funds will directly support students from the participating municipalities.

The Township of Springwater contributed $1,000 towards the Bursary Program and is pleased to support Alexa in her future studies. 

The program is consistent with the County of Simcoe’s commitment to education and also encourages community involvement and civic responsibility amongst residents. In addition to the Bursary Program, the County provides significant funding to both Georgian College and Lakehead University Orillia Campus to support local access to two world-class education institutions right here in Simcoe County.

The 2016 Bursary Program is now closed. 2017 applications will be accepted and reviewed starting spring 2017. For eligibility requirements and application details, please visit or e-mail providing full contact details to receive a Bursary Program package.

About Springwater Township

Located in the heart of Simcoe County, the Township of Springwater is home to approximately 18,500 residents. A popular destination for outdoor activities in all four seasons, Springwater is the ideal place to live, work and play.

About County of Simcoe

County of Simcoe is composed of sixteen member municipalities and provides crucial public services to County residents in addition to providing paramedic and social services to the separated cities of Barrie and Orillia. Visit our website at


“One of the most important things we can do as a local government is assist our residents, of all ages and backgrounds, in accessing higher education and training. Our Bursary Program, funding commitments and support of various training initiatives have a major impact on the economic and social well-being of the citizens we support and our communities that they call home.”

– County of Simcoe Warden Gerry Marshall

“On behalf of the Township of Springwater, I congratulate Alexa on her bursary. The Township recognizes the importance of post-secondary education and is pleased to be able to support our residents as they get the skills and training needed to become our future leaders.”

– Township of Springwater Mayor Bill French